Undone

UnWasted - Title

Have you ever had an experience that rocked your world so violently that you were never the same? Those moments, tragedies, horrors that you can’t shake and make you rethink everything you are?

I witnessed a life shattering event recently and I’ll never be the same again. At least I hope I never will.

You’ve seen it, you’ve probably lived it. You’re going about your business, living life, doing good – not casually or passively – you’re truly laying it all down serving God. Then the walls crumble as disaster strikes, your life tilts and everything is left in shambles. When you come up for air you begin to wonder – God, if I’m serving you, following you, trusting you – how did I end up here? God, how can the world be so messed up that evil seeps in even here?

My heart has been heavy watching these events unfold. My heart has been broken watching lives unravel. God has been there, don’t get me wrong, I still stand firmly in the faithfulness and sovereignty of God. None of that has changed, but there’s a phrase going through my mind that’s putting me in check and altering my days.

It goes like this:

Life is short, hell is hot, evil is lurking and there’s work to do.

This phrase is drawing me to my knees in prayer. Pleading prayer for my family, friends and this world in desperate need. This phrase is putting me in check when I consider frivolous pursuits. We all love Facebook, Pinterest and Instagram, no one loves Twitter, but we all love the rest and there is GOOD WORK being done in those forums. I think the problem lies in the balance of it all. There’s good work and then there’s wasted time. There are orphan advocacy videos and there are pork taco videos, side by side. The line, the space, the time, it’s all conglomerated. I’m not promoting withdrawal, I’m promoting contemplation.

If,

Life is short, hell is hot, evil is lurking and there’s work to do.

Then,

I must ask myself, what will my days look like? How will I spend my time? Where will I draw the line between entertainment and leisure and seeking after God and His will? There’s only so much life to live, how will I spend these days? Will I take time to look my kids in the eye and impart truth and love to them? Will I spend my time and energy pleading for the cause of the orphan and widow? Will I spend time in prayer for the many things that are way beyond me?

Or,

Will I scroll and click and like. Will I sit and stare into oblivion until I get to the end of my days with – Nothing.

Life will still be beautiful, sin will still be ugly, the question is, How am I going to engage and battle for each? I want to be in that battle, not watching on the sidelines. It’s time to get to work.

“It was becoming clearer and clearer that if I wanted to come to the end of my life and not say, “I’ve wasted it!” then I would need to press all the way in, and all the way up, to the ultimate purpose of God and join him in it. If my life was to have a single, all-satisfying, unifying passion, it would have to be God’s passion.”
2 thoughts on “Undone

Let's Talk!

