Seen & Heard: 10 Apps I Use (Nearly) Everyday

I use my phone a lot, for a lot of things, there are many apps that I use everyday and I thought I would share them with you.

10 Android apps that I use everyday or nearly everyday:

Kindle – This is a must have in this household. This app is on all of our devices for reading and the kids also use this for many of their schoolbooks.

Feedly – I love this blog reader and switched to it when Google Reader went away. I use this to read all of the Gospel Coalition blogs, Tim Challies, Kevin DeYoung, etc. I also have some crafting, organizing and money saving blogs that feed here, but I don’t read them much right now. 🙂

wpid-Screenshot_2014-02-07-07-46-42.png

Amazon MP3 – I used to buy all my music on iTunes, but now everything is in the Amazon cloud. I use this in the house with my bluetooth player and in the car through auxiliary port. Many a calming moment provided here!

Facebook – For a while I deleted this one, I prefer to not make it easy to be distracted by Facebook. I finally just turned off notifications so that I wasn’t constantly being pulled back in.

Runkeeper – There are probably better running apps, but this one has kept all my runs and walks since I started running so I like to keep using it.  It is also tracking how many miles I’ve gone in my running shoes since I got those at about the same time! 🙂

Expensify – I love, love, LOVE this app. It’s probably not useful to anyone else, but it allows me to take a picture of receipts and turn in all of the items I purchase for the church.  This little app saves me a huge amount of time.  I’ve taught Katie Ann how to use it too, so when we are at the store I run the church purchase first and she records the purchase while I complete our personal order.  Once a month, I go online to their website and turn in all our expenses, quick and easy! YAY! (There was underground chatter about discontinuing the use of this program at church, much moaning and groaning came from me about this so I’m going to put in one more, I LOVE EXPENSIFY, just for good measure!)

Cartwheel – Oh my. I just discovered this app. It’s a terrible app for saving money because it makes shopping at Target like a game for me and I just want to go spend more so I can earn more dumb badges in Cartwheel.  All of that to say: I really like this fun app!

Goodreads – I had hoped that when Amazon bought Goodreads we would see some better cross-app integration, but alas – we have not.  Never the less, I do enjoy being able to go on my phone and update where I’m at in books and see what my friends (my daughter) are reading. This app helps keep me on track for my 2014 booklist.

YNAB – This is for the You Need A Budget budgeting program that we’re trying out.  It’s still not a perfect fit, but I like their app because you can see how much money you have in each category while you’re out and about spending money! This assumes you’ve updated your bank account and budget recently, which is something I TRY to do everyday, but I’m not always on top of it.  It’s a pretty app.

Path – I use Path a decent amount of time. I’d use it more if it’s notifications worked properly and I actually knew when I had new content. We use this privately for my parents and my siblings that have moved away. This is where all the pictures and topics that we don’t want everyone in the world’s 25 cents about. It works well for this, but like I said, I’d be closer to my family if it would tell me my niece or my brother posted.

One of my very favorite apps is my alarm clock. I don’t know if it’s the one that comes with my phone or what, but it just works great. Goes off every morning without fail! Go figure! 🙂 No, but really, it’s easy to set alarms and easy to use. You can even set it to make you do a puzzle in order to turn it off, ha ha!

I also use Brightest Flashlight, messaging program and navigation a lot, but those aren’t worth mentioning, except I just did.

One app that I do not use, but would love to is Gqueues. I use their website everyday, all day, to keep track off all the different things I’m doing. I just haven’t been able to bring myself to pay the $25.00 a year it takes to be able to use their app. The app would be the only reason I’d be upgrading, that’s a $25.00 app that expires! Yikes!

What are your favorite apps?

Happy Friday!

9 thoughts on “Seen & Heard: 10 Apps I Use (Nearly) Everyday

  1. My Google calendar! I think I would be absolutely lost without my calendar. It reminds me of upcoming birthdays, reminds me of appointments I would otherwise miss, keeps me on schedule with all of my children’s sports activities, and so much more!
    I also use reminders. I’m one of those people who can walk into a room and forget why I went there in the first place. So I ask Siri to remind me of things. Like, I’ll be out and I’ll say, “Siri remind me when I get home to take the meat out to thaw.” And she reminds me – BOOM!
    I still haven’t tried Cartwheel – going to have to check that out today!

      • Julee, you have Google Now (that google search bar) You can have it remind you of things just like Siri… I’m pretty sure it does all the things that Siri does. Give it a try!

  2. I would suggest Asana as a great tasking alternative to GQueues. I use it for personal, business, and church tasking and have a couple of clients setup as well. It is simple and offers a nice free version. They just recently integrated calendar support which is nice too!

    • Ok, cool. I’m going to need a tutorial. I signed up and I need to know how to create different categories, personal, women’s, children’s, discipleship…

      Can you repeat tasks in a logical manner?

      We’re gonna have to talk!

  3. Well this is fun and what better way to procrastinate then to leave a comment on your blog!
    Daily apps, hmm….well, I use my house phone daily. Umm…I use microsoft outlook daily. Annnnd, I use feedly (love feedly!) about twice a month….when I get to steal Noel’s phone, I do listen to lots of podcasts….and the only time we use “brightest flashlight” is when we walk bandit at night. 😉 …let’s see what else??? Oh, I do use google maps to print out maps. It’s not an app, but worth mentioning. 😉 oh, i know! I use spotify daily! 😉 that’s a legit app!

Let's Talk!

