Seen & Heard: Bad Christians

wpid-PhotoGrid_1386953889858.jpg

This Christmas has been an odd one for us. We haven’t broken out an advent book, haven’t lit a candle. We set up a tree in our living room, threw a bunch of ornaments on it, discussed at great lengths what star to put on top and called it Christmas. There have been no trips to look at lights, or to any festive places.

I suppose we aren’t very christiany Christians.  Certainly a pastor and his family must live more spiritually than this?

Last night, the kids and I watched Bedtime Stories. Tony asked how it was later in the evening. I told him it had crude humor, “You know, so that’s always funny.” I rolled my eyes as I said it, remembering the reason I didn’t let the kids see this movie in the theaters.  He asked, “Were there a lot of people slipping and falling down like Home Alone?”  “No. There was a guy named Butt-kiss. They loved that.”  We don’t do this.  There are countless children’s movies my kids have not seen. Last night, they watched Bedtime Stories. There. I said it.

I think they’re going to be ok. I really, really do.

We haven’t done anything Christmasy and we’re watching movies with crude humor. Great.

My friend asked me about children’s bibles yesterday, what’s on your bookshelf? We’ve read all of ours. Umm… The Action Bible? We had the Lego bible but it talks about rape and kids way to young were asking about that so we put that away. We have children’s books on Augustine and great leaders of the faith… surely that counts for something?

I used to be so strict, so careful. I haven’t lost that, but now that I’m the ripe old age of 33, I’ve loosened up a bit. You know how the babies in the family are always allowed to do more than everyone else ever was? Yeah, I think we’re there. I don’t plan on watching more crude humor, but if my 3 year old says Santa is bringing her a candy, I don’t sit her down and give her a good talking to.  She plays with Barbies. I know, it’s wild around here.

There hasn’t been a strong feeling of Christmas cheer, but there’s been something else. There’s been a distinct feel of family, relationship, connection.  We’ve had friends and family in, we’ve talked, laughed, shared life together. My friend showed up at my door the other day and a few days later, I sat down in her kitchen. We laughed, we talked, we shared hardships. The other night, I had the opportunity to go out for dessert with a group of women very special to me. Another group of believers talked and guided me through a difficult test in my life. The kids, all of them, have been hanging out together. Meeting each other in the halls, in bedrooms, on swingsets and spending time together.  There’s been laughing. Lots of laughing.

I had the opportunity to sit down to talk for 2 hours with my 14 year old the other night.  He just kept talking, sharing his heart, his dreams. I just kept staring straight into his eyes, asking questions, smiling, laughing.  What’s more merry than that?

We’ve been praying for people. People who are visiting our home, people we hear about, people we care about.

We actually filled up an Operation Christmas Child box this year! Two of them! That is an accomplishment for this family! 🙂

That’s 13 days of real life in December in our household, it’s not much, but God is here, alive and moving among us.

Happy Friday!  or Merry Christmas if that makes you feel better! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Seen & Heard: Bad Christians

  1. We have a tiny plastic plug-in tree, no Christmas lights (I still need to put them up), and haven’t done anything “festive” yet. I’m not so much a fan of the festive, but Michelle is. We’ve just spent too much time playing, laughing, and enjoying one another when we’re all together, we haven’t gotten around to a lot of this stuff. I guess we’re not very christiany either, but then again, I don’t think we ever really were. I’m so glad that we serve a God who is more concerned with the working out of our faith and love than the outward showing of religiosity and tradition.

    This will probably shift as we get older, but for now, this is our life. We do what we feel is most important with the little bit of time we have. We’re very content with it though!

  2. I love it. I think when we’re older we’ll want some specific traditions because that makes family and that keeps family bonded. Then again, if the family is already bonded because we’ve laughed and talked so much, will we need specific traditions? 🙂

    I think living where we’re at before the Lord and not trying to put on a performance of Christian life is good. As for Michelle, it’s love to celebrate in a way that’s important to her too. I guess it’s like all things – a balance.

    Thanks for sharing your Christmas season so far, it’s fun to see into your household 🙂

  3. Love hearing about those special family moments! Well…we’ve done just about every possible Christmasy thing imaginable just short of watching a live nativity dramatization (which yes, I have researched!)…mainly due to the girls activities but partly due to a few moments of spontaneity. And I am worn out! Its fun in the moment but not relaxing! The girls beg me daily to do one of their advent activities that we have yet to do…..but this week we slooooooow down and I am looking forward to the rest and peace!

  4. Thank you for this post. I’m so glad you are not holding me to a yardstick of perfection. 🙂 Add us to the list of non-christiany Christians (I think you coined a new phrase!) Everything seems late or non-existent for us this year. I’m so glad Christmas is about Christ-mas. Christ worship. He is all we need.

Let's Talk!

