Seen and Heard – Dear America Actually

A little bird told me there were some who took my post to be a promotion of acting dangerously and posing theoretical questions that can’t truly be answered. I’m thankful to hear the conversation sparked. Blogging is a lonely hobby, posing thoughts, questions, ideas, the things flowing through my heart and mind, the things that help me discover who I am and what I think, I send these out into the void. The void rarely answers.

It’s just the nature of blogging I suppose. Or maybe it’s just me, but I like to console myself with the former.

So, it was nice to hear what came out of it.

I don’t think I was promoting foolishness. I actually know actual people who live in big houses and have nice things and will not pray about or consider going to certain places because of their own prejudices and yes, concern for safety. I don’t think it can necessarily be assumed that those acting out of such prejudice would also be acting in the spirit. So, any idea that you would shun the Spirit’s leading and just jump into a dangerous situation doesn’t seem to match what I’m talking about. Follow the Spirit’s leading, but actually seek, ask, heed, don’t just decide on your own.

As for asking theoretical questions. I don’t generally speak theoretically, my husband does, but I don’t. Do I? I don’t know, maybe I do, sometimes I like to ask odd questions like, “Would you rather be a jaguar or a cheetah?” Theoretically speaking, I would rather be a jaguar because they’re dark and mysterious as compared to a cheetah who can just run really fast for a short sprint before tuckering out.

When I asked, “Will you? Lay it all down?” I wasn’t speaking theoretically asking if you would turn from Christ in persecution. I was talking about today, right now, here. I actually know actual people who say they want to serve God with all of their lives, to live radically, communing with Jesus who told people to drink his blood and eat his body. The same Jesus, that those people turned their back on because they didn’t understand. I know people who say they want to follow that Jesus and yet are too busy, too distracted, too caught up in this world to actually look outside of themselves and their own concerns.

My question is: American Church, will you stop running around in circles, saying you love God and yet living your own life. Will I, as an American church member stop complaining about the present light affliction, stop filling my days and my calendar with things that don’t really matter and lay it all down for Him?

I actually live with this little boy:

wpid-1205130701.jpg

This little boy actually made in impact in my heart:

child-murdered-112613-eml13-34-a

When I look at him, I realize there is actually a mother in India right now who is actually mourning, groaning and weeping over her baby boy.

All this America, all this stuff, all this living for self?

It doesn’t actually matter.

Dear America, This is Not a Game.

4 thoughts on “Seen and Heard – Dear America Actually

  1. Thank you for having the conviction and courage to share this, Julee. It is one of the many things that Michelle and I both admire in you and Tony, conviction and courage.

  2. Julee, your last two posts have made me burn fiercer – wanting to plead to apathetic, self-serving, complacent American “believers” that Jesus has not blessed us so we can wallow in comfort and safety, but to use those blessings to proclaim the gospel from the rooftops and live a life completely dedicated to glorifying God. It is to those who shirk from Jesus’ challenge to follow him wholeheartedly that God says,

    “I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were either one or the other! So, because you are lukewarm—neither hot nor cold—I am about to spit you out of my mouth. You say, ‘I am rich; I have acquired wealth and do not need a thing.’ But you do not realize that you are wretched, pitiful, poor, blind and naked. I counsel you to buy from me gold refined in the fire, so you can become rich; and white clothes to wear, so you can cover your shameful nakedness; and salve to put on your eyes, so you can see. Those whom I love I rebuke and discipline. So be earnest and repent.”

    A believer who thinks they’re living a godly life just because he/she lives a life of personal purity and clean living forgets that Jesus has called us to far more for his name’s sake. Live for God. Be radical. Death, suffering and pain may be what is required of you. If so, then live dangerously.

  3. Pingback: Seen & Heard: A Year of Grace & Stashing Treasures | Stashing Treasures

Let's Talk!

