Seen & Heard: In Visions and Dreams

I slip into bed, having nothing specific on my mind. The days have been slow, nursing an injury; trying to muster some ambition to carry out tasks with one arm.

In the darkness, my eyes close. I nearly drift off.

It’s there. There, where I’m not asleep, nor awake, but taken into that surreal space between sleep and wakefulness.

lanterns

It’s there I see the line of windows with the curtains drawn back in no particular neatness. Out those windows, that appear suddenly to my left, I see the dark shadowy figure pass by. Passing quickly towards… what?  The door to the room is now the focal point of my vision. I can see the door to the room, the door wide open,

I see the darkness without.

The phrase comes to my mind, it suddenly makes itself known:

“It’s an open door to the enemy”

Just as quickly as this vividly flowing scene is brought before me, it’s gone.

lantern

I’m awake, wide awake. I find myself, again, in the dark. My voice sounds loud, my speech quick, as it breaks the silence of sleep. I recount this vision, this warning.

I know what this open door of darkness speaks to in my life; so I pray. I pray, not as one afraid, but as one intimately acquainted with the One who gave His flesh and blood. I pray, knowing I wrestle not against flesh and blood, as one who knows the Conqueror. As I pray, I give thanks. Thanks for messages in the dark to bring wisdom to light.

As the sun rises on a fresh day, warm rays shine over me. The darkness of night overwhelms, but the Light breaks through and He brings peace.

i'm a rose

I smile.

2 thoughts on “Seen & Heard: In Visions and Dreams

  1. Amen! What hope and peace Jesus brings!

    “This is the message we have heard from him and proclaim to you, that God is light, and in him is no darkness at all.” 1 John 1:5

  2. Pingback: Seen & Heard: A Year of Grace & Stashing Treasures | Stashing Treasures

Let's Talk!

