The Still Small Voice


As I sat immersed in the glorious praise offered up by Keith & Kristyn Getty and their amazing band, there was that inkling, that thought.

When God comes ever so gently and speaks in a whisper,

When He whispers just the right portion that your heart can handle,

You have to be still and listen to that still small voice.

Why do you falter and weary at each brush in the path?

I ask myself: where my soul is your faith? Where my heart is your strength?

Death is dead, love has won, Christ has conquered;
And we shall reign with Him,
For He lives: Christ is risen from the dead!

I’ve not been living a life of faith, but rather a life of fear.

I’ve not been living in light of the redeemer, but in the light of my circumstance.

I can become lost in the glory of the sovereignty of God, but the things I believe in my mind take time to sink into my heart.

My flesh speaks a language of it’s own and it can be hard to translate the message of the glory of God into every day life.

Before You I kneel, my Master and Maker,
To offer the work of my hands.
For this is the day You’ve given Your servant;
I will rejoice and be glad

A call to faith.

To be a responder.

A call to respond to God in faith.

To respond to my husband with joy, to respond to my children with the encouragement of a smile, to respond to God with faith for each path He leads me down, each person and situation He places me in front of.

The feelings of frustration rise up in me.

The overwhelming stress. The offense taken.

Let me  be lost in the sovereignty of God, let the reality live out in my daily life.

For patience and peace to shape all my labor,
Your grace for thorns in my path.
Flow within me like a living stream,
Wear away the stones of pride and greed
‘Til Your ways are dwelling deep in me
And a harvest of life is grown.

The swirling going on in my head as I try to catch this lesson God is teaching me. The whisper in a concert to put on my armor and not be so easily taken down, the lesson in bible study to be an agreeable woman who responds to my husband more often than I disagree with him. ..

These inklings come altogether in a call to faith. To be a responder to the call of God in FAITH and to let that flow out into every aspect of my life.

These lessons are difficult, they cut at the core of my heart and my flesh fights.

I can no more ignore this lesson than I could ignore my own hunger for food.  This may break me; crush my flesh, but may I be found broken at the foot of the cross and then rise up to walk in faith in God, saved by grace, walking in the power of His Spirit.

3 thoughts on “The Still Small Voice

  1. Pingback: Seen & Heard – Elementary Days | Stashing Treasures

  2. Pingback: Seen & Heard: A Year of Grace & Stashing Treasures | Stashing Treasures

Let's Talk!

