The Old Worn Soap Box

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Do you ever consider taking an axe and just chopping up that old soap box you keep standing on? I mean, seriously, sometimes doesn’t it feel like you’re just adding to the wind with all of that hot air coming out of you?

I’ve considered it. It just seems a shame to crush that old thing, we’ve been together for so long.  That hot air? It’s warm with the fire that burns in my heart about this subject I am passionate about.

Even as I’ve considered it, I just can’t stop talking about biblical womanhood. It’s been subject to my scrutiny and study since I was a preteen, it infiltrates all that I do.

“Women should be taught and discipled in biblical womanhood.”

EDUCATING women in the principles of biblical womanhood”

As I’ve studied and explored biblical womanhood for women’s ministry, I hear these phrases come out of my mouth, flowing out of my writing, so much, I get tired of hearing myself.

The fact is, biblical womanhood isn’t something to be taught and checked off a list. It’s something to be taught, taught again, further explained, further understood, come back to again and again.

Why do I preach biblical womanhood?

Older women likewise are to be reverent in behavior, not slanderers or slaves to much wine. They are to teach what is good, and so train the young women to love their husbands and children, to be self-controlled,pure, working at home, kind, and submissive to their own husbands, that the word of God may not be reviled. (Titus 2:3-5, ESV)

It’s Biblical
In the Bible, there are the gray areas, up for interpretation, and there are other things that are commanded. In Titus 2, Ephesians 5, women are instructed as to what they should be devoting themselves to and how they’re to conduct themselves in the various occupations of life they’re in. Older women are instructed how to conduct themselves and in so doing, to be an example to younger women. They’re told to teach the younger women the way they should walk. These aren’t suggestions, these are things that Titus, as a pastor, is instructed by Paul to make sure happen. Biblical womanhood is biblical… go figure.

It’s Good
I love that Paul says to teach what is good and train young women in these things.  When we teach, model, and disciple in biblical womanhood, we’re teaching what is good. This means our endeavors, though they seem like offerings to the wind at times, aren’t wasted. We’re to teach what is good, and that is very good.

It’s Important for the Gospel
“…that the word of God may not be reviled. ” When men and women know how to conduct themselves in the roles and responsibilities they’ve been called to, it’s a shining light to the world. When men and women are mixed up, living out of character and design, the world watches and scoffs at the chaos. Lange’s commentary of this passage puts it concisely:

The general idea of this passage is, that the good name of the gospel depends upon the proper conduct of its professors in the stations they occupy.

Next month, I’ll help put on a one day conference for the women in our church called: “True Women.” The following week, we’ll begin a 10 week bible study titled: “True Woman 101: Divine Design.” I don’t think it’s time to step off my soap box yet, these biblical truths and foundations are what stir my heart and make me excited to run ahead on this journey.

4 thoughts on “The Old Worn Soap Box

  1. Pingback: Seen & Heard: A Year of Grace & Stashing Treasures | Stashing Treasures

Let's Talk!

