Arguing with the Almighty

18120

“I’ll be your strength.”

“Well, you’re just going to have to pour it into me, because I’m not going to be able to harvest it!”

This was the conversation I had with God today.  Life has been busy lately and there isn’t end in sight.  I have often heard people say that they are too busy to spend time with God and I kind of half smile at them. Sure. Too busy. I thought that it was about priority and about what you make time for and if you get up at 7 or 8 or 9 or 10 and you don’t have time to spend with God – well, you just aren’t trying hard enough.

But this is 5am. Surely I am owed something by God for getting up at this ungodly hour to have time to spend with Him?

Sometimes, when you’re trying to do everything right, God is trying to show you that you can’t do everything right. Dependence. This lesson of dependence is going to be the death of me. I got this God. Let me plan, let me schedule, let me tweak. I got this.

Then my plans get thwarted and I get overwhelmed. What more do you want God?

Dependence.

Trust in Me.

So here I am at 6am dressed and ready to spend some precious time with my Savior and what do I see? A child.  It isn’t always the same child, but there seems to always be a child awake and next to me.

I know that as soon as this day is launched that it doesn’t stop for me until 9pm. I’m desperate for you NOW God. Don’t you see my heart? Don’t you see that I religiously go to bed at 10:30pm so that I can get up and be with you? Don’t you see that? It’s called discipline and I think it should be rewarded!

So here I am standing in my kitchen with a child on my hip having this conversation in the morning dawn.

“I’ll be your strength.”

“Well, you’re just going to have to pour it into me, because I’m not going to be able to harvest it!”

Exactly.

When there seems to be too much going on.

When the lessons seem to be coming one on top of the other.

When life has question marks.

When you are doing everything right and yet it seems all wrong.

I will be your strength.

Be my strength God.

One thought on “Arguing with the Almighty

  1. Pingback: Seen & Heard: A Year of Grace & Stashing Treasures | Stashing Treasures

Let's Talk!

