Heartstrings of Christmas

IMG_2783

Baking cookies, wrapping presents, decorating trees, visiting family and friends, the list can go on and on when it comes to Christmas festivities. Television offers plenty of toys to buy and Christmas specials to watch, the internet offers plenty of sales and shopping and Pinterest ideas to make and social opportunities abound.

The Christmas season is filled with so much and holds so much potential. I have often embraced Christmas with both arms and even some legs too! Embracing this holiday almost frantically, hoping to squeeze out of it every last ounce of wonderfullness that it could offer.  The problem with my wringing of the Christmas season was that the grand potential of it all stressed me out! Beginning at December first I would find 25 days looming before me and if I didn’t create the right atmosphere, do the right crafts and activities, alight the mysterious Christmas wonder in my children’s eyes and faces, then I would have failed somehow.

IMG_2782

BE PICKY
A couple of years ago I decided to adopt a couple of Christmas traditions, the make sure to do items, and let everything else go. Anything on top of those traditions are just trim on the Christmas tree. A couple of those traditions are Christmas school and celebrating Advent. We don’t do these things best, but we do these things in our own way. Be picky about what you allow into your time this month, everything cannot be done!

IMG_2784

JOIN ME?
This next month I would love to share some thoughts and ideas with you on how we celebrate Christmas. I don’t think we do anything exceptional and that’s why I want to share them with you, to show that my mediocre Christmas celebrations are in fact celebrations and your attempts are just right too! Will you join me on this journey? I don’t know what it holds exactly, but I know I’ll be blessed and have fun doing it!

DECEMBER 1ST: What are your most important Christmas Traditions? What are you going to make sure to do this year?

Let's Talk!

